Dakster903

Welcome to Dakster's World

A long time ago…and it still hurts

on July 1, 2012

A long time ago, when I was about 8 or 9, I showed some dance steps to a relative. That relative looked at me with a “you can’t dance” look in their eyes. They didn’t have to say anything for me to know from their eyes what they meant. This one experience has stayed with me since. Some might call that silly, others unforgiving but I say it was a lesson learned in rejection.

The relative who looked at me this way hurt my feelings in such a way, I have not danced in public since (with the exception of being in my clone trooper). Why is that? Why is it that I gave up doing something I love in public simply because of one person? I don’t understand it, but I guess it was my first taste of rejection. My first taste of doing something I loved and someone I care about looking at me as if I just wasn’t good enough in their eyes.

I know its been almost 20 years, but it still hurts when I think about that day. I don’t let it get me down anymore, but the memory of that instance hurts and the one who is behind it, will never know and even if they do find out (this is a public blog after all), I don’t think they will ever admit to it.

Ohh well. I might not dance in public anymore, but I have moved on to putting myself out there in other areas. Besides, when I have danced in my clone trooper, I will say that I’ve been given high scores on my dancing. 🙂

Why am I bring this up? I was given a writing exercise and this is what I came up with for it. I think it hits on the high points without dragging you into a long and sad story about my childhood. I could do that with ease, but its wouldn’t be fun to write.

Leave a Reply

